Lasagna Timpano

Leave a comment

February 22, 2013 by thelittlepinkmustache

I am not sure who thought, “I’m going to make a lasagna pie” but they did and I give you Lasagna Timpano. It might look like an upside down lasagna pie, which lets face it, it is. But this is by far one of the best lasagna recipes I have ever made, and the best part it is incredibly simple.

What you will need to start with is at least a box and a half of lasagna noodles boiled and drained. I also found out while making this that I had grabbed the ready bake noodles at the store, which you cannot boil. But thanks to the wealth of knowledge on the internet, if you end up making this mistake you can place the noodles in hot water for 10-20 minutes till they are soft enough to use.

This isn't my photo as I forgot to take some of the process.

This isn’t my photo as I forgot to take some of the process.

Once you have your noodles take either a metal mixing bowl or a ceramic one that is oven safe and spray it down with cooking spray. Now it is time to start to layer your noodles into the bowl.

After you have completed that step you are going to need to grab a bottle of alfredo sauce. Now this is a type of lasagna where there really are no rules. You can put as many different kinds of layers in it as you want but you will need alfredo sauce and I will come to why later. The original recipe calls for a layer of alfredo sauce and salami. I of course to not have any salami in the house so I used the closest thing, which is pepperoni. Once you have done that layer over noodles and press down. It is important to press down with each layer so it becomes very compact. (Hint I totally forgot to do this till the top layer so if you don’t do it, it will still turn out fine.)

After you have three layers like this your next layer will be a layer of just cheese. I used mozzarella but you can use what you like or just what you have in the house. Then put another layer of noodles over this. At this point it calls for a layer of pesto but of course I didn’t have that so I just did the remaining layers with marinara sauce with meat in it and ricotta cheese mixed with spinach on top. I had about three layers of this.

Once you have reached your top this is where that alfrado sauce will come in. Start to layer over the noodles that were draping over your bowl. Paint on a very thin layer of the sauce as this will be the glue that holds the top together. Once you have completed this put the whole thing into a 350F oven for about an hour and 15 minutes. When done remove and let stand for at least 20 minutes. DO NOT skip this level, as the lasagna needs to set and cool down before cutting.

SONY DSCOnce the times up take a plate and place it over the top of the bowl and quickly flip it over and your Lasagna Timpano will slide out, cut and enjoy.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Leave a Reply

My Posts

February 2013
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

